## WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

**REGULAR SESSION, 1951** 



(By Mr.....)

PASSED March 5 1951

In Effectully duys from Passage

### ENROLLED

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

#### FOR

# Senate Bills Nos. 2, 10, 28, 40

[Passed March 5, 1951; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections one, one-f, one-i, one-j, one-o and one-t, article two, chapter fifty-one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, and to further amend said article two, chapter fifty-one, by adding thereto three new sections to be designated sections one-y, one-z and one-aa, relating to judicial circuits and terms of court.

B<sup>e</sup> it enacted by th<sup>e</sup> Legislature of West Virginia:

That sections one, one-f, one-i, one-j, one-o, and one-t, article two, chapter fifty-one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted, and that said article two, chapter fifty-one, be furEnr. Com. Sub. for S. B. Nos. 2, 10, 28, 40] 2

ther amended by adding thereto three new sections to be designated sections one-y, one-z and one-aa, all to read as follows: Article 2. Circuit Courts; Circuit; Criminal and Intermediate

#### Judges.

Section 1. Judicial Circuits: Judges: Terms of Court.-2 The state shall be divided into judicial circuits as follows: The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall consti-3 tute the first circuit; the counties of Marshall, Tyler and 4 5 Wetzel shall constitute the second circuit; the counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie shall constitute the 6 third circuit; the counties of Wood and Wirt shall con-7 stitute the fourth circuit; the counties of Calhoun, Jack-8 son, Mason and Roane shall constitute the fifth circuit; 9 10 the counties of Cabell and Putnam shall constitute the 11 sixth circuit; the county of Logan shall constitute the 12 seventh circuit; the county of McDowell shall constitute the eighth circuit; the county of Mercer shall constitute 13 14 the ninth circuit; the county of Raleigh shall constitute 15 the tenth circuit; the counties of Greenbrier, Monroe, 16 Pocahontas and Summers shall constitute the eleventh 17 circuit; the counties of Fayette and Nicholas shall con-

3 [Enr. Com. Sub. for S. B. Nos. 2, 10, 28, 40 stitute the twelfth circuit; the county of Kanawha shall 18 19 constitute the thirteenth circuit; the counties of Braxton, 20 Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall constitute the fourteenth circuit; the county of Harrison shall constitute the fif-21 teenth circuit; the county of Marion shall constitute the 22 sixteenth circuit; the county of Monongalia shall consti-23tute the seventeenth circuit; the county of Preston shall 24 25 constitute the eighteenth circuit; the counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute the nineteenth circuit; the 26 county of Randolph shall constitute the twentieth cir-27 cuit; the counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall 28 29 constitute the twenty-first circuit; the counties of Hampshire. Hardy and Pendleton shall constitute the twenty-30 second circuit; the counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and 31 Morgan shall constitute the twenty-third circuit; the 32 33 counties of Mingo and Wayne shall constitute the twentyfourth circuit; the counties of Lincoln and Boone shall 34 35 constitute the twenty-fifth circuit; the counties of Lewis 36 and Upshur shall constitute the twenty-sixth circuit; the county of Wyoming shall constitute the twenty-seventh 37 circuit. 38

Enr. Com. Sub. for S. B. Nos. 2, 10, 28, 40]

39 There shall be elected on the Tuesday next after the 40 first Monday in November, one thousand nine hundred 41 fifty-two, and every eighth year thereafter, one judge in 42 each of the circuits herein constituted, except for the 43 first circuit there shall be two judges elected.

4

44 The terms of the several circuit judges of the counties
45 aforesaid shall commence and be held each year as here46 inafter provided.

Sec. 1-f. Sixth Circuit.—For the county of Cabell, on the first Monday of January and May; and the second Monday in September. For the county of Putnam, on the first Monday in March, the fourth Monday in June and the fourth Monday in October.

Sec. 1-i. Ninth Circuit.—For the county of Mercer, on
the second Monday in March, May and August; and the
fourth Monday in November.

Sec. 1-j. Tenth Circuit.—For the county of Raleigh, on
the third Monday in February; on the third Monday in
May; on the fourth Monday in August; and on the second
Monday in November.

5 [Enr. Com. Sub. for S. B. Nos. 2, 10, 28, 40
Sec. 1-o. Fifteenth Circuit.—For the county of Harri2 son, on the first Monday in January, May and September.

Sec. 1-t. Twentieth Circuit.—For the county of Ran-2 dolph, on the third Tuesday in February and May; and 3 the second Tuesday in October.

Sec. 1-y. Twenty-fifth Circuit.—For the county of Lin-2 coln, on the third Monday in March; the fourth Monday 3 in July and the third Monday in November. For the 4 county of Boone, the fourth Monday in January, the 5 second Monday in April, the first Monday in July and 6 the first Monday in October.

Sec. 1-z. Twenty-sixth Circuit.—For the county of
Lewis, on the first Monday in March; the third Monday
in June and the first Monday in November. For the
county of Upshur, on the second Monday in January,
April and September.

Sec. 1-aa. Twenty-seventh Circuit.—For the county of
2 Wyoming, on the second Monday in February, April,
3 July and October.

Enr. Com. Sub. for S. B. Nos. 2, 10, 28, 40] 6 The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled Chairman Senate Committee ames M, a Chairman House Committee Originated in the Senate. u days Ism Takes effect \_\_\_\_passage. Clerk of the Senate Clerk of the Houselof Delegates President of the Senate Speaker House of Delegates The within APPROVED this the MARCH , 1951. day of. Oku, Governor. med in the Unice of the Secretary of Searce of West Virginia. D. PITT O'BRIEN,

SECRETARY OF STRAFT